D’Angelo European tour 2012

Posted: February 11, 2012 in Event
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

First of all I wanna say ” HAPPY BIRTHDAY D’ANGELO” since it happens to be his birthday today. 11/02/2012

I have ,with so many others dreamed about this day when my absolute favourite artist of all times D’Angelo decides to tour again. After being absent from the scene for over a decade with only guest appearances on other artists songs I could not have been more happy when late last year I saw that he announced 2 shows in Amsterdam for the end of January 2012. I was sitting like glue by my laptop the time and date they released the tickets. The demand for a comeback was huge and it did not take long before more dates was added in various countries in Europe. When the show for Brixton academy in London got booked I bought a ticket for that as well. How could I not? I have been waiting for this to happen for twelve years. If I could I would have gone to all of his shows. : )

Speculation about what he was gonna look like now, how he was gonna sound and even the suspicions if he was even gonna turn up circulated. But I knew. He was definitely coming back. And he did. Big time. His show was amazing. Ectatic with so much energy. He used such good musicians too. He had great guitarist Jesse Johnson ripping the place . On drums was Dave “Daddy” Dave and on bass legendary Pino Palladino and everybody else in his band called the Testimony where fantastic as well. D’Angelo did some new songs and old songs with a new twist. All in all 2 1/2 hours of pure genius. This is the best concert I’ve seen since the last one I saw he do in Stockholm Sweden 2000.

D’Angelo himself is somewhat of a human god. He is so talented. Musically & vocally. His voice gives you chills and he is so beautiful to look at it hurts. You could sense that the whole venue felt the same. He is every inch a star.

I did not bring my beloved Canon slr to his shows ( did not wanna have trouble coming in with a professional camera) but I did bring my little pocket camera for the gig in Amsterdam. My Olympus xz-1.

And here are some of the images from the show at the beautiful converted church Paradiso (which now is a legendary music and club venue in Amsterdam) on the 9th February 2012.

D'Angelo-Amsterdam-Paradiso-2012-funk-funky-sexy-live-brown-sugar-untitled-AnnCharlotte-photography-event-photographer-concert-rock-soul

D'Angelo-Amsterdam-Paradiso-2012-funk-funky-sexy-live-brown-sugar-untitled-AnnCharlotte-photography-event-photographer-concert-rock-soul

D'Angelo-Amsterdam-Paradiso-2012-funk-funky-sexy-live-brown-sugar-untitled-AnnCharlotte-photography-event-photographer-concert-rock-soul

D'Angelo-Amsterdam-Paradiso-2012-funk-funky-sexy-live-brown-sugar-untitled-AnnCharlotte-photography-event-photographer-concert-rock-soul

D'Angelo-Amsterdam-Paradiso-2012-funk-funky-sexy-live-brown-sugar-untitled-AnnCharlotte-photography-event-photographer-concert-rock-soul

Leave a Reply

